Birth: 09-12-1945, Patna, Bihar, India

Shatrughan Sinha, born Shatrughan Prasad Sinha, is an Indian film actor and politician. Apart from being a member of Rajya Sabha twice, he was also the Union Cabinet Minister of Health and Family Welfare (Jan 2003-May 2004) and Shipping (Aug. 2004). He was elected to the 15th Lok Sabha in 2009. He was born in Patna, Bihar and is an alumnus of the Film and Television Institute of India, Pune.

Currently there's a scholorship being awarded in his name in the institute to diploma students. He moved to Bombay where he started his career in the film industry.
Shatrughan Sinha's first acting opportunity was playing a Pakistani military officer in Dev Anand's 'Prem Pujari'. Subsequently, he got a small role as a police inspector in Mohan Sehgal’s 'Sajan' in 1969. The release of 'Prem Pujari' was delayed, so his first released film was 'Sajan'. He played supporting roles in many films before appearing in Gulzar’s 'Mere Apne' in 1971. He later appeared in Dulal Guha’s 'Dost' in 1974 and in 'Kalicharan' in 1976.
Sinha was selected by Rediff as one of the most unconventional actors in Hindi cinema (the others being Ajay Devgn, Amitabh Bachchan, Irfan Khan, Rajinikant, Shahrukh Khan, and Suniel Shetty).
In 2008, he joined as a judge on The Great Indian Laughter Challenge show, season 4, on STAR One TV. On 3rd October 2009, Sinha appeared on Sony Entertainment Television Asia's show 'Dus Ka Dum' season 2 as host for a special episode. He is currently hosting the Bhojpuri version of the popular game show 'Kaun Banega Crorepati' on Mahuaa channel.He portrayed Chief Minister N.T. Rama Rao in Ram Gopal Varma's 'Rakta Charitra'.
Sinha won the Indian general election from Patna Sahib in Bihar. He defeated another cinema celebrity Shekhar Suman. Out of a total of 552,293 votes polled, Sinha received 316,472 votes. He become a cabinet minister with the Government of India in the 13th Lok Sabha, holding two portfolios, the department of Health and Family Welfare (Jan 2003-May 2004), and the department of shipping (August 2004).  He is currently a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party. As of May 2006, he was been appointed as the head of the BJP Culture and Arts Department.