• Hemamalini wins the prestigious ANR Award

    14th December 2011

    Actress Hemamalini has been chosen for the prestigious 'Akkineni Nageswara Rao Award' for the year 2011.

    Talking to journalists, chairman of the award jury and Member of Parliament T. Subbarami Reddy said, in the presence of Dada Saheb Phalke awardee and the thespian Nageswara Rao that the award would be given away at a function on December 26.

    The ANR award was instituted in the year 2005 by the Akkineni International Foundation as an 'Award for Excellence' to those who dedicated their life towards service to cinema.

     The late Dev Anand was the first recipient of the ANR Award in 2005, followed by Shabana Azmi, Anjali Devi, Vyjayanthimala Bali, Lata Mangeshkar and K Balachander respectively.

    Subbarami Reddy said, "Hemamalini is a worthy actress and dancer. Even at the age of 60 years, she is  very active in acting and dancing careers."


 kingfisher backstage